Peterborough to March - Four in One (UK from April to July) - CycleBlaze

May 19, 2024

Peterborough to March

 My head hurts. It's called a hangover. 

 Last night I had a few pints with friends in Lincoln and getting up at 9:00 seems a bit too early - another hour or so would be better, but I've got a train to catch. 

 This will be trip number 3 on my itinerary: riding into Norfolk.

 There's a departure from Lincoln direct to Peterborough at 10:35 and I get there in plenty of time, but sadly there's no room for my bike, so it's a case of getting a later one that will arrive in Peterborough at around 12:30. That's OK. This wait gives me a chance to relax longer in Costa coffee. 

 It's a decent rail journey and there's bright sunshine when I wheel my bike out of the station. I stop off at a couple of charity shops as I ride a few blocks to the centre of Peterborough, where I try replicating an old postcard, then I make my way down towards the River Nene, buying an Hawiian-style shirt for £5 from another charity shop en route. 

Heart 3 Comment 0
Riding beside the River Nene from Peterborough east towards Whittlesey
Heart 1 Comment 0

 There are quite a few people enjoying the sunshine by the slow-flowing river. Willows give me shade for a while, then the crowds thin out and it's wide open countryside with not a lot to stop for. It's a flat and straight cycle path that runs along the top of the bank. A few small boats chug by.

 Today's goal is a town called March, riding through Whittlesey after about 10km or so. It's roughly 32km to March, which are all flat, so it's not what you would call a big challenge. 

 I cross over the Nene on a footbridge about half way to the small town and continue on a marked cycle path with only a couple of other riders spotted. The new, fat front slick feels like it's rolling along better than the knobbly... A tenner well spent.

 There's a Subway in the centre of Whittlesey and that's where I have a late lunch. It's been quite a scorcher and being inside feels nice. 

 The town has are a few spots that I want to take photos of - replicating more old postcards and photos and that's what I do before setting off for March.

Whittlesey
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Roughly another 20km to March with very few contours
Heart 1 Comment 0

 Signs lead me out of Whittlesey on a deserted lane called New Road and onto paths, which are dry and made of compresed gravel. There's a section running beside a railway and it's all pretty flat, with lots of blue sky and what wind there is blows from my back.

 After a few kilometres, the path brings me to a country road and the Route 63 signs give me a choice: either follow the tarmac on what is named the Wet Weather Route, or ride straight across on what's clearly a farm track replete with potholes. I decide to go straight. 

 Hundreds of years ago, this area was marshland it's a good job there's been little rain in the past week or whatever. The track becomes seriously rutted and some sections have deep mud. I obviously veer onto the higher, dry parts, but at one point I have to pull over as about 20 4x4s come towards me. My guess is they're all being driven by townies who want to collectively test their expensive vehicles. Each has a single occupant and they wave as they bounce slowly past.

 I pass a farmer ploughing a field of light brown soil with his tractor, then ride beside a wide drain for a bit on March Road, which tells me that I must be heading in the right direction.

Route 63
Heart 1 Comment 0
Not a good section of cycle route during winter months
Heart 1 Comment 2
Jon AylingYep that's a bit of Cambridgeshire mud alright
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Graham FinchTo Jon AylingI kept out of it.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Lots of sky on March Road
Heart 1 Comment 0
Riding into March along a riverside lane called West End
Heart 1 Comment 0

 The cycle path signs point me onto a small lane that runs beside The Nene. It's narrow and unsuitable for cars and is called West End. Many of the houses date back a few hundred years and some are listed.

 I come out next to a Wetherspoon's pub with an adjacent hotel. The chain is known for remodelling large buildings in city centres, such as banks and cinemas, and for selling cheap beer. This place was once a cinema and is still called The Hippodrome.

 The receptionist says they've a room and gives me the key, saying my bike can be locked in the yard area, which has tables with people drinking. Once inside, my room is pretty big and as it's on the ground floor, it's easy to wheel my bike inside where it'll be safe. 

 There's an Indian restaurant just across the road, so that's where I dine, dressed in the shirt I bought from a charity shop in Peterborough. My night ends back in The Hippodrome with a pint that only costs £3.20.

My bike parked in a ground floor room in Wetherspoon's Hippodrome Hotel
Heart 1 Comment 0
My 'new' £5 shirt bought from a charity shop in Peterborough this afternoon
Heart 3 Comment 0
The Hippodrome is now a JD Wetherspoon's pub
Heart 0 Comment 0
Edward VIII was King for just a year, so this is rare
Heart 3 Comment 0

Today's ride: 37 km (23 miles)
Total: 468 km (291 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 0