Lincoln for a week or so - Four in One (UK from April to July) - CycleBlaze

May 25, 2024 to June 5, 2024

Lincoln for a week or so

a few trips

 I spend Friday afternoon with Ruby, who drives Oscar to the dentist in Gainsborough, then enjoy a couple of beers with friends at night back in Washingborough.

 The carboot in Torksey is held on Saturdays as well as Wednesdays, so after a Costa coffee at Lincoln Station, I catch a train to Saxilby at 10:50. It's only a 10-minute journey, but it cuts out a boring cycle path.  

Dave lives in Washingborough - there's a cycle path into Lincoln and I get a train to Saxilby
Heart 0 Comment 0

   

Having a drink in Costa Coffee at Lincoln Station
Heart 3 Comment 0
On a driveway in Saxilby
Heart 1 Comment 0

 As I pedal west out of Saxilby, a cardboard sign catches my eye. It says Open To Offers and is afixed to a pair of bikes, with a new tyre hooked over one of them. When I take a closer look, it's a 700 Schwalbe, which is no good to me, but it would fit Ruby's bike and is something to ponder over... I'm curious how much the sellers are looking for.  

 It's a pleasant and quiet ride to Torksey and I'm about 20 minutes early for the carboot, with the gates not opening till noon, but there's already a long queue. After locking my bike to a wire fence, I chat to a couple in front of me who seem to be regulars. They tell me the best deals are to be found over on the right once through the gate, because it's where genuine carbooters sell their unwanted stuff. The majority are regular traders.

 That's where I begin and after half an hour of walking around and looking at all kinds of junk, I call it a day and text Ruby, who suggests meeting at Bransby Horses' Home for a late lunch. It's a only slight detour on the way back to Saxilby.  

Bikes for sale at Torksey carboot on Saturday
Heart 1 Comment 0
On the way back from Torksey
Heart 2 Comment 0
Lunch with Ruby at Bransby
Heart 4 Comment 0

 Bransby is a tiny village. Most of it is owned or connected to Bransby Horses - a rescue and rehabilitation centre, which has a nice cafe that's very popular. 

 Ruby is already there and once we've had our fill, she checks the train departures on her phone after finally getting a signal and tells me there's one leaving Saxilby in about 40 minutes. No problem.

 I've agreed to meet a few friends, including Dave, in The Morning Star back in Lincoln at 5:00 to watch the FA Cup final on telly - Manchester City v. Manchester United - and I'll be about 15 minutes late and text them to let them know. 

 The trouble is I should retrace my tracks from Bransby, but instead ride in the wrong direction and the lane eventually brings me out onto the A1500, east of a village called Sturton, where I used to live when Ruby was young. 

 It's added quite a bit of time to my ride back to Saxilby, so I press on and make it to the station with just a couple of minutes to spare, but the pixel board on Platform 1 says the train has been cancelled. What a pain.

 It's just a minute or so to Ruby's home and I ride there. She says if I can get my bike in the back of her car, she'll drive me to the pub. Bless her.

Dave
Heart 2 Comment 0
In the Morning Star after watching Manchster United win the FA Cup on telly
Heart 1 Comment 0

 This week Ruby has three weddings to organize: she decorates venues for couples who are tying the knot and needs a hand. I'm free, so make my way to her place from Washingborough via the usual cycle path and train journey. I'm just glad I bought a discount rail card.

 The first venue is at a pub-restaurant in a village just south of Saxilby called The Bottle & Glass, so I ride there and do my best to help  out, fixing up lights and carry things around. The next day everything happens in reverse and it's then on to the next one, and then teh third. It's pretty tiring, but it's great to spend time with my daughter. 

On the way to Harby
Heart 3 Comment 0
Ruby decorating the wedding venue in Harby - The Bottle & Glass
Heart 2 Comment 0
Riding back to Saxilby
Heart 3 Comment 0

 Debbie flies here next week and there are a couple of things I need for her bike, such as a barbag. Ruby has one she's not using so I make my way over and she digs it out from the attic. The metal zipper hasn't been used in so long that's its fused itself in place. Not to worry. 

 She drives us out to Bransby for lunch, which we have al fresco as all the tables inside are full. I told you it was a popular spot. 

 The other things Debbie's borrowed bike needs are some bar-ends and a mirror, which she's bringing with her, and a decent seat. I've bought two Brooks. One was from a FB Marketplace seller in Saxilby and has titanium rails. It's like new and was £60, while the other is similar to mine, with a cutout, and was around £50 on eBay. She can choose which one she wants to have fitted when she sees them. I also have a small pair of used panniers for her to use - they were an eBay purchase, too. I love a bargain.

The cafe at Bransby Horses again
Heart 4 Comment 0
For Scott
Heart 2 Comment 1
Scott AndersonCute, but he’s no mail slot.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Waiting at Saxilby Station for a train to Lincoln
Heart 4 Comment 0
Front wall in Washingborough
Heart 4 Comment 0

Today's ride: 45 km (28 miles)
Total: 629 km (391 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 0