Back to Lincoln - Washingborough - Four in One (UK from April to July) - CycleBlaze

May 12, 2024

Back to Lincoln - Washingborough

a long train ride south

After my full English breakfast, I pedal slowly up the High Street to Berwick train station and get there at 9:30. It's all very quiet and being a Sunday, I'm not sure about trains going south to Lincoln and want to get an idea of the departures before doing anything else today. 

 The ticket guy checks the schedules on his computer and tells me I can leave Berwick on the 10:50 and books my bike on it as required. There are a couple of changes - in Newcastle, then Retford - but that was to be expected. I flash my plastic as well as my codger card for a discount.

 It doesn't seem worth going back down the High Street, as shops won't open till 10:00. My preference is to sit in the Costa attached to the station and enjoy a decent coffee. I get rid of a Scottish fiver while I'm at it as shops probably won't accept it further south in England 

Scottish fiver
Heart 1 Comment 0
Waiting at Berwick station for the 10:50 south to Newcastle
Heart 1 Comment 0

 The train is a high-speed one with a narrow compartment that's supposed to hold two bikes. Really... I can hardly squeeze mine in and my bars have been rotated 90s degreees so that they're inline with frame. Luckily no other cyclist needs to fit theirs in next to it.

 Once we're moving, I hear the PA system say the train will call at Sheffield, which is where I sometimes get a train for Lincoln and I ask the ticket guy if I should just stay on till then, rather than get off at Newcastle for a train down to Retford. He agrees that it's a good idea... The train from Sheffield will pass through Retford on its way to Lincoln.

It's a tight fit for two bikes in the narrow compartment - my bars have been turned 90 degrees
Heart 1 Comment 0

 What we didn't realise is the train from Newcastle to Retford is much faster and by the time this train arrives in Sheffield, the Retford-Lincoln train has already left. 

 It means there's an hour to wait and I sit in a Costa and have another drink. When it's finally time to get on the train, the PA system says it's been cancelled and I have to wait another hour. What a pain. It'll be five by the time I get to Lincoln. It's turned into a seven-hour journey. 

 When I eventually wheel my bike onto the train, I notice my front tyre has puncured and it's totally flat. Strange. Luckily I have a spare innertube and fit that.

Sheffield station
Heart 3 Comment 0
Flat
Heart 1 Comment 0
I fit a new tube while on the train to Lincoln
Heart 2 Comment 0
Finally back at Dave's after a long day - having a beer on his patio
Heart 3 Comment 0

  

Today's ride: 7 km (4 miles)
Total: 406 km (252 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 0