Almost week around Lincoln - Four in One (UK from April to July) - CycleBlaze

May 13, 2024 to May 18, 2024

Almost week around Lincoln

a new tyre

  

 The UK pension department sent a form to me in Taiwan, and Debbie has sent it to Dave's. Basically I need to prove that I'm not dead (I know I don't look great, but I do still have a pulse) and an attached letter says the form needs to be back this week, so I call and explain it's taken a while to get it and the guy says to just send it ASAP, so I ride back down the cycle path into Lincoln on Monday morning, hoping a bank will sign it. They've done it before.

 Two banks tell me they no longer offer this service unless I'm a customer, but one of the clerks advises me to try the Citizen's Advice Centre, so I pop to City Hall. There, I get told it's all oline now. 

 As as I ride into the city centre, I see a solicitor's office and decide to bite the bullet, knowing there'll be a hefty fee. The young guy takes a look at the form and tells me it'll just cost me £5 for him to complete it. Bingo. Let's face it, you don't get much for a fiver nowadays and I thought it would be at least 10 times that amount.

 

Calling at the small shopping centre in Washingborough for breakfast stuff
Heart 2 Comment 2
Kathleen JonesThat is one styling cap.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Graham FinchGlad you like it. The company - Smith, London - sell them on eBay.

Here's a link to a similar one...

https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/156070795680?itmmeta=01J3C7HSFM0P86PTNQQV2S096B&hash=item24568b59a0:g:VtgAAOSw9N5l0y8u
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
On the familiar cycle path to Lincoln with the cathedral in the distance
Heart 1 Comment 0
Social Distancing sign in the centre of Lincoln
Heart 1 Comment 0

 My energy is pretty low after the ride north of Newcastle and my bike needs adjusting. I buy a slick tyre on eBay for £10, thinking that if it's any good, I'll buy another. It arrives and gets fitted to the front. It's fat and totally slick and is appropriately called Think Slick. Both tyres get pumped up hard and the bike now seems it rolls along a lot better. We'll see soon enough. 

 Ruby brings the bike that Debbie will use over to Dave's house. It also needs some attention, so Dave drives us to a bike shop in Lincoln and the guy there fits a second-hand rear wheel complete with a used tyre, and also puts in new brake pads. It gets done in a day and only comes to £24.

 On Sunday the plan is to get a train south and head to Norfolk.

Very reasonable shop in Lincoln
Heart 1 Comment 0
Guess what I bought on eBay...
Heart 1 Comment 0
The new £10 Thick Slick fitted to the front
Heart 3 Comment 0

Today's ride: 25 km (16 miles)
Total: 431 km (268 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 0