A few days in Lincoln - Four in One (UK from April to July) - CycleBlaze

May 4, 2024 to May 6, 2024

A few days in Lincoln

family time

I wander about York after a yummy home-made granola and fruit salad breakfast, with Roy and I spending some time having a coffee and doing some window shopping until I get a train back to Lincoln in the afternoon. 

 The cycle path from Washingborough is one I know well now and I ride back along it on Sunday morning to watch my youngest grandson - Oscar - play cricket, not far from Lincoln Cathedral. He seems like a natural. 

 Later in the day I get a train to Saxilby and watch my son-in-law play. Dark clouds threaten rain, but it somehow stays dry. 

 There's a cycle path between Saxilby and Lincoln, but I prefer taking the train and catch one at about 8:00 as riding between Lincoln and Dave's feels like enough. It gets monotonous. 

The footbridge over the river to get on the bike path in Lincoln
Heart 2 Comment 0
Oscar
Heart 4 Comment 0
Coffee in Lincoln
Heart 1 Comment 0
Lincoln to Saxilby by train later on Sunday
Heart 2 Comment 0
My elder grandson and Ruby watching Alan play cricket in Saxilby
Heart 3 Comment 0

 On Monday the weather is decent and Ruby has some free time, so we agree to have lunch in the newish cafe beside Lincoln Cathedral. We end up sitting outside in a courtyard, as it's a sunny one and it seems criminal not to make the most of it. 

 My plan is to get away in the morning, what with the forecast being good for the next week. I'll get a train at about 11:50 up to Newcastle and once back at Dave's, I pack the panniers before walking down to the local pub for dinner.

Riding back into Lincoln to meet Ruby on Monday
Heart 2 Comment 0
Carrying my bike back over the footbridge
Heart 1 Comment 0
Statue of Alfred, Lord Tennyson next to Lincoln Cathedral
Heart 1 Comment 0
Cathedral cafe with Ruby for lunch
Heart 3 Comment 0
Another ride down the cycle path to Dave's
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 30 km (19 miles)
Total: 212 km (132 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0