Ready to Go - Alma Mater - CycleBlaze

Ready to Go

The last couple of weeks have flown by, with multiple family visits back and forth to Devon. Great and good to see everyone, but it somehow means I've done zero cycling, never mind training with the loaded bike.

My mum and Caroline in the dunes
Heart 1 Comment 0
A quite unexpected visit to an miniature ferret sanctuary with my niece.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Surfers on Hayle Towans and St Ives bay. Now rated the best beach in Britain by the Times!
Heart 1 Comment 0

The weather forecast has taken a turn for the worse - although the diabolical combination of rain and a wind from the east now seems to have resolved. It may rain quite a bit on Friday, but at least I won't have a paradoxical headwind at the same time.

"Weather Warning"
Heart 0 Comment 0

However, I have my train tickets, the panniers are packed and I'll pick the train up after work tomorrow. I can always bale if things get really bad, but for the moment I'm excited.

I have mapped the route out quite precisely. I also dug out my paper road map published way back in 2011. Amazingly the pages I'm taking still have the faint highlighter mark of the route I rode all that time ago.

Some last minute repairs. I definitely had a slow puncture in the front, so have replaced the tube.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 0