Mid-ride update - Alma Mater - CycleBlaze

September 7, 2024

Mid-ride update

Well I've been on the road for a couple of days, and it has been - challenging. A bit of the fun the route had thrown at me:

  • Quite a lot of rain
  • Some very steep hills (unavoidable) and some silly off-road segments (my fault)
  • Cancelled ferries at Exeter
  • Not one but two tube failures! This never happens to me - I have literally never had to patch a tube on tour.

This did really wear me down today, and I made the quick decision to jump on a train and skip some of Wiltshire. No regrets. 

Am I having fun and intending to continue - of course! On the plus side

  • I found one of the best spots for a wild camp last night I think I've ever had. I actually slept better than in most beds.
  • My fitness feels really good, I've been tackling 16-20% hills without stopping. The problem is the endurance, I've gotten too tired to continue after 70km or so each day.
  • The rain really did ease off today and I've had some lovely riding through idyllic lanes.
  • I really have made use of nearly everything I'm carrying. Though be careful what you wish for - I was genuinely just thinking "hmm, I guess the only thing I haven't used are my tools" when my tire started to go.
  • I managed to buy a ticket, get on a train, and book a room within 10 minutes of rocking up at Crewkerne station on  a whim. My feet barely touched the ground!
  • The flexibility is adding to the fun and keeping me on my toes

Tonight I'm staying in the Stonehenge youth hostel - a bit of a leftfield choice, but it's cheap and staying at the YHA makes me feel like I might still be a "youth". Just 80km or so to get to Wantage tomorrow, so that should be doable if my tube holds up - I no longer have a spare, and the patches were failing pretty badly. It's Sunday tomorrow so I really don't want to get stuck in the middle of nowhere with an unfixable tyre.

On the plus side the Trinitarians have promised to come and rescue me if I really am stranded. By sheer coincidence Jonny will be in Salisbury tomorrow so that might even work. I'm going to try to ride though.

I have pictures but no camera adapter so will have to follow later!

Today's ride: 150 km (93 miles)
Total: 310 km (193 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 0