Oy - Isny - Boy Oh Boy, Allgäu! - CycleBlaze

September 6, 2024

Oy - Isny

Today was the best day yet, with beautiful views and great roads, but it was also the most demanding. We decided we didn't need a long day today, so I created a shorter route, which however didn't reduce the vertical meters.

Our sunny breakfast room, a good start to the day
Heart 5 Comment 2
Patrick O'HaraI could find worse places to have breakfast! Nice.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Suzanne GibsonTo Patrick O'HaraI could go for having breakfast served to me in a place like that every dayy!
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Getting to where the views are
Heart 5 Comment 0

As usual my trusty e-bike got me to the top first and it seemed like a good place for a photo. I carry a little tripod with me which I set on the ground across the road and we posed for our V for victory shot.

We can do this!
Heart 10 Comment 3
Patrick O'HaraI think you should continue to do a series of these photos. How many do you have of this pose now?
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Suzanne GibsonTo Patrick O'HaraI think only two. We must get some more!
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Rachael AndersonTo Suzanne GibsonDefinitely!
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
We are on the old Salt Road which passed by here from 1636 to 1851.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Geraniums in abundance
Heart 6 Comment 1
Patrick O'HaraWindows with geranium beards.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Weathered shutters
Heart 5 Comment 2
Graham FinchFar more ornate than the ones here!
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Suzanne GibsonTo Graham FinchSeems to be from more prosperous days.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Susan takes the lead, I'm a slowpoke on the downhill.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Yellow trim stunning against the blue sky, reason to stop again for a picture
Heart 5 Comment 0

I am impressed by the many families cycling with young kids on serious climbs, no e-bikes. They seem to have good bikes, though, nothing resembling what I rode as a youngster. Still these hills take a lot of determination, regardless of your bike. While taking a break at the side of the road another cyclist stopped to say hello and chat. This isn't too common in Germany, but Charlie, as we learned was his name, had spent much of his life in the USA and South America which I think accounted for his more outgoing behavior. Or maybe he was just attracted to us two young beauties! He said he had lived abroad for many years but in the end the Allgäu was his preferred place to settle down. He was on a sleek e-bike and knew the countryside well.

Meet Charlie (photo courtesy of Susan)
Heart 4 Comment 0

Before we crossed  the Iller at Martinszell, the first short and steep climb came. My route showed a short little zigzag that I didn't take. Susan walked it, I stayed on the road. A couple of kilometers later the real climb of the day started. I quote from Susan's journal: "the big climb of the day – 2.7 miles averaging 6.9% and topping out at 16.5%".

I'm climbing and not taking many pictures.
Heart 5 Comment 2
Patrick O'HaraWhat's not to love?
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Suzanne GibsonTo Patrick O'HaraRight!
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
I got Susan as she crested the hill.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Another chapel, but not open.
Heart 3 Comment 0

The rest is downhill. We stop and I investigate one more church, St. Pelagius in Weitnau.

A last breather before we reach our destination
Heart 5 Comment 0
I didn't get a shot of the church from the outside. The interior is elaborate neo-gothic (1860).
Heart 6 Comment 0

Our hotel, once the palace of Count Franz Anton von Waldburg-Zeil, is a few kilometers outside of Isny. I think I chose it because everything in Isny was booked out. My elegant room was as hot as an oven when I entered. After I closed the heavy curtains on the sunny side and opened the windows to the other direction to let some air in, it cooled down and I was ready to enjoy the luxury.

Another fantastic day, but I was dead tired and again didn't write a word in my journal.

Living in style with a chaiselongue
Heart 4 Comment 0
My view
Heart 3 Comment 0
All dressed up for dinner
Heart 6 Comment 0
A good finish to the day, outdoor seating in the restaurant across the street
Heart 7 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 49 km (30 miles)
Total: 219 km (136 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 10
Comment on this entry Comment 0