Friedrichshafen - Lindau - Boy Oh Boy, Allgäu! - CycleBlaze

September 9, 2024

Friedrichshafen - Lindau

Today Susan and I go our separate ways. Susan is on her way to Strasbourg and then Paris while I cycle to Lindau where I get the train to Munich. Rain is in the forecast. I could take a train from Friedrichshafen and change trains in Lindau but I prefer to cycle the 27 kilometers, even in the rain, to the possibility of having to navigate stairs when transferring. We meet for breakfast at  7:30 and soon it is time to say good-bye.

I put Murphy's law to the test, hoping that if I wore all my rain gear it wouldn't rain. I put on my rain booties, rain legs, rain jacket and rain cover for my helmet. Then it was time for the final picture.

Hasta la vista!
Heart 6 Comment 2
Gregory GarceauNatural born touring companions. It was great to see you two together once again.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Suzanne GibsonTo Gregory GarceauThanks to CycleBlaze!
Reply to this comment
1 month ago

It  wasn't raining when I took off and since I had no way of knowing if and when it was going to rain, I decided not to rush it. I knew I had plenty of time to make the train at 11:46 so I stopped for pictures when I felt like it. The bike path followed the shore more or less but the lake was usually hidden from view.

Wet paths and puddles after rain all night
Heart 4 Comment 0
A pleasant bicycle route
Heart 5 Comment 0
Schloss Monfort and choppy waters
Heart 4 Comment 0
For a look at Lake Constance I had to veer slightly off my course.
Heart 1 Comment 0
I rode across the cable suspension bridge from 1898 in Langenargen
Heart 4 Comment 0
The bridge was a sensation in its day.
Heart 2 Comment 1
Karen PoretStill is impressive!
Reply to this comment
1 month ago

I arrived in Lindau and was still dry! Murphy's law! I had plotted my route directly to the train station and as I was rolling around the corner to the entrance the first drops fell! Timing is everything.

In Lindau around the corner from the train station
Heart 5 Comment 0
Here I am high and dry.
Heart 3 Comment 0
It's pouring now - I made it in the knick of time!
Heart 0 Comment 0

I had ample time to buy my ticket and get a piece of pastry for the ride home. I rolled my bike onto the waiting and empty train and didn't even have to hang my bike on any darned hooks. However, the train did get crowded with people and big bags as we approached Munich. I actually wanted to get off in Pasing and ride the 12 kilometers home but decided it wasn't worth the struggle to work my way to the door. Munich was the final destination and I just waited for everyone to get off. Then I took the city train back to Gauting and was finally home.

Perfect!
Heart 6 Comment 0
The ride home
Heart 5 Comment 1
Janos KerteszSuper Aufnahme!
Reply to this comment
1 month ago

I probably should have some final thoughts to close the journal. I was a bit apprehensive before I left for the tour, I was worried about recurring health problems. I wasn't quite sure I should be doing this with Janos far away in Poland and not there to bale me out in case something went wrong. But there were no accidents and no illnesses, and I came away with a lot more confidence in my ability to go on tour than I had when I set out.  The rest I think I have said already. Susan and I had a wonderful time cycling together, the weather was perfect and the Allgäu is a fantastic place for touring. 

Heart 2 Comment 0

Today's ride: 27 km (17 miles)
Total: 334 km (207 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 6
Karen PoretSo wonderful you had a fantastic time with Susan and no hiccups at the end!
I, on the other hand, had constant rain from 9 AM to 2 pm, on our journey from Groningen to almost Emden.. My “ rain legs, jacket, and keens did not “ do the trick” rain wise. Hopefully tomorrow will not be as cold. You are a true inspiration!
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Suzanne GibsonTo Karen PoretThank you, Karen! I am so sorry you are getting such nasty weather! It's hard to enjoy such nice places like Groningen in when it's rainy and cold, not to mention the cycling. I didn't get home a day too soon. It's freezing here!
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Susan CarpenterThank you Suzanne for suggesting the Allgäu, for designing such great routes and for being the bestest touring companion. Looking forward to another adventure.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Suzanne GibsonTo Susan CarpenterThanks Susan!
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Nancy GrahamWonderful! Being on our own little trips, I have had to read your journal when I could get WiFi signal, so it has taken me a while to finish the journey with you. I loved every page, every photo, and every story. Nice to have such a compatible cycling friend to experience all the good of bike touring, when Janos is not available ;’-). Belated Happy Birthday for Susan. And congrats for good weather, good health, and good times.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Suzanne GibsonTo Nancy GrahamHi Nancy, I knew you were traveling and likewise I have been responding and commenting little. I am happy that you enjoyed the journal. Thanks for reading and your kind words!
Reply to this comment
1 month ago