Downtime at the Lodge - An Island Sojourn - CycleBlaze

September 17, 2024

Downtime at the Lodge

At YPL, meals are served at round tables seating 10, so it’s an opportunity to a socialize. Nay, a requirement here. I’ve met all sorts of interesting people every time here. This time by pure coincidence I even met up with someone I taught with 30 years ago.  While I thought I’d be the only one arriving by bike, I was wrong. Not for the first time.  An older couple riding two wheel forward tricycles and a couple riding mountain bikes showed up after me. Another couple staying in the room next to mine brought electric assist city bikes. It’s a movement. 

With a day off the bike, I took a cue from the Andersons and went for a walkabout after breakfast. The forecast was for wet after noon. As it turned out, the rain didn’t happen but it was still cool and blustery. Got my cycling gear washed in the sink and was reminded of how even an apparently clean jersey can turn the water brown. As I sit here typing this on my phone, cookies are brought out for the evening tea time. 

My walk destination.
Heart 0 Comment 0
No sandy beach here. It’s one big rock.
Heart 2 Comment 2
Scott AndersonI love this. This was a spot we planned on biking to someday but never fit in.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Bob KoreisIf referring to YPL, it definitely requires booking ahead for much of the year. If the Island or park in particular, taking ferries along the Sunshine Coast and connecting with the islands can make for an incredible scenic trip of a few days to a couple of weeks.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Didn’t notice this trail when I entered the park. Maybe a 150’ loop. Oh well, it was a few more steps toward making the watch happy.
Heart 3 Comment 0

Tomorrow morning it’s up early, get packed rush through breakfast and ride to the ferry south of Nanaimo. 

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 0