Where did *that* idea come from? - Escaping the Rain--In Portugal - CycleBlaze

August 20, 2024

Where did *that* idea come from?

When it seemed that my proposed Volcans et Vallées tour in France will be postponed again, for a number of reasons, I mentioned to Al that I still really wanted to do another trip this year because, well, who knows when something will happen so that I won't be able to.  I think similar ideas have been discussed among his riding buddies, so when I asked if he might be interested in escaping the rainy Lower Mainland of BC in November, he said "Maybe.  Where could we go?"

Three years ago, when we asked ourselves something similar, we hit on Spain, then narrowed it down to Andalucía.  That was pretty good, so how about Portugal?  A bit of climate research suggested our best hope of staying reasonably dry would be the southern part of the country, so we decided to risk it.

We bought our flights yesterday.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 11
Comment on this entry Comment 9
Steve Miller/GrampiesHow exciting! We loved our trips to, in and through Portugal and it will be wonderful to see it again through your eyes. By the way, Ryder looks like a natural.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Jacquie GaudetTo Steve Miller/GrampiesThanks, Steve! We are excited too! It was the many(!) journals I've seen on Cycleblaze that got me interested.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Steve Miller/GrampiesTo Jacquie GaudetWe particularly liked our passes through the Alentejo region, and Scott and Rachael spent time there also. It will be interesting to see what routing you choose.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Scott AndersonWoo, hoo! Good for you two! Can’t wait to see where you go with this one. Map!
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Patrick O'HaraDid Al tell you that I recognized him at Kits beach? It was so strange having never met him, that I recognized him from your journals and said, "Excuse me, Is your name Al?" I got quiet the puzzled and suspicious look before I explained how I 'knew' him. Ha ha. Looking forward to reading about your travels.
Reply to this comment
4 weeks ago
Jacquie GaudetTo Patrick O'HaraHe did tell me. We need to have a Vancouver CB meetup!
Reply to this comment
4 weeks ago
Jacquie GaudetTo Scott AndersonIt’s in progress! I’ll probably post it later today.
Reply to this comment
4 weeks ago
Scott FenwickGreat idea! We did a quick trip down the coast from Lisbon in November of 2021. Even the locals could not believe how nice the weather was. Beautiful and warm. Unfortunately no blog on that trip. But this link may provide some of our rides. The coast is absolutely beautiful. https://ridewithgps.com/collections/56745?privacy_code=8Iphd3a9n9Qf2I8x
Reply to this comment
4 weeks ago
Jacquie GaudetThank, Scott! More ideas are always welcome!

We are really hoping the weather will be good. I have my fingers crossed for dry and Al is hoping it's not too cold. Of course, we will be prepared for both.
Reply to this comment
4 weeks ago