2025 Plans - High Desert Rivers - CycleBlaze

2025 Plans

I have two bike tours in mind for 2025. Both start in Missoula, Montana.

Missoula to Twin Falls

An A to B tour from Missoula, Montana to Twin Falls, Idaho. I should be able to do one way car rentals, 1.5 days drive each direction.

The bike tour would be 16 days with rest days in Anaconda and Stanley. Also a traveling rest day from Salmon to Elk Bend followed by a non-travel day to hike up a mountain to Goldbug hot spring. The spur goes to two creekside hot springs that I have never visited.

I'm thinking late June would be a good time for this tour to be warm but have minimal chance of smoke.

Terrain or Hybrid view makes it easier to visualize the route.
Heart 0 Comment 5
Kelly IniguezI'm happy to see Ovando made it into the route. I hope it lives up to my hype!

Are you planning to overnight in Phillipsburg? That certainly sounded like your sort of town to explore.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Wayne EstesTo Kelly IniguezOvando adds 2 days to the route, but also makes the start in Missoula instead of 34 miles east of Missoula. It also makes the first day of both tours near duplicate routes.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Wayne EstesTo Kelly IniguezPhillipsburg is a planned overnight. I think it has a historic B&B.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Kelly IniguezTo Wayne EstesWe started in Missoula once, and left our car at a motel by the airport for a modest fee. I had lobbied for a locale in East Missoula, but the motel didn't want a parked vehicle for that long. As we bicycled past, it didn't appear to be a good spot for extended parking. The motel's decision was a god one.

Going through twice, you will be able to refine your lodging choice!
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Kelly IniguezTo Kelly IniguezThe decision was a good one. No edit feature, unfortunately.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago

Missoula-Glacier Loop

This loop starts and finishes in Missoula, Montana, so I could drive my car. 14 days, with rest days in Bigfork, Whitefish, and Hot Springs. Also a day ride on Going to the Sun highway in Glacier National Park. 

The northern part of the route is very touristy. The western part of the route is in the Flathead Indian reservation with few tourists, but with hot spring soaking at Hot Springs town and Quinn's Hot Springs. I plan to do this tour in early September to have smaller crowds at Glacier and Whitefish.

Terrain is easier than the Missoula to Twin Falls route. Only two days have more than 2000 feet of climbing. Day 1 when I'm well rested, and the unloaded day on Going to the Sun highway where I can turn around whenever I want.

Terrain or Hybrid view makes it easier to visualize the route.
Heart 0 Comment 0

That's my current 2025 tour ideas. Nothing is committed yet...

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Kelly IniguezAs always, I enjoyed this journal and look forward to reading about your 2025 tours. They are both appealing.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago