Science Lesson - French Pootle - CycleBlaze

June 12, 2024

Science Lesson

Someone please explain this to me.

When I opened my eyes upon waking in the hotel in Obernai, I noticed an interesting shadow on the wall opposite the window. I thought it looked cool, so took a photo of it from the bed. Then I took a photo of the bit of light filtering in around the curtain. A little while later I got a better look at my first shot. There were colors involved there. And things were pretty pointy. It reminded me of something. I opened the curtains to the view out my window. Huh. The shadow was an inversion of the scene outside.

The light sneaking in above the curtain.
Heart 1 Comment 3
Bill ShaneyfeltLike a pinhole camera.
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Bill Shaneyfelthttps://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pinhole_camera
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Kathleen JonesTo Bill ShaneyfeltThanks again, Bill!
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
The shadow on the wall opposite. I did not notice the colors that my camera was able to pick up.
Heart 2 Comment 0
The scene outside my window.
Heart 3 Comment 0

I believe this happens with pinhole cameras and the like, but don’t remember why it inverts. Inquiring minds want to know.

Edit: our man Bill Shaneyfelt confirms the pinhole camera effect, and included a Wikipedia link to its explanation. It also leads one to camera obscura which has a better explanation of what the light rays are doing. 

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 0