Moselle and Canals - French Pootle - CycleBlaze

May 26, 2024

Moselle and Canals

Just a reminder, you can partake of a Rashomon experience by reading Susan’s account of our little tour and Suzanne’s account of our tour. You’ll get to see a lot more photos of moi.

After joining the others for breakfast at their hotel, we gathered to do our first ride together, meeting at the base of the iconic Saint-Etienne Cathedral. I was finally getting to ride with these three. This made me very happy.

It was an easy ride along the Moselle and its canals. It’s a popular bike touring route and it’s well signed. The knock against canal trails is that they can get pretty boring because they’re flat and usually with no views of anything but trees. But I didn’t care, I was in France, I was riding along the Moselle with  friends, it wasn’t raining.

Heart 1 Comment 1
Scott AndersonNice, but how could you have passed up the chance to see Woippy?
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
The gang’s all here. Let’s ride! (photo courtesy of Suzanne)
Heart 3 Comment 0
Along the canal
Heart 1 Comment 0
Quite the live-aboard barge
Heart 2 Comment 0
One happy cyclist, dispensing “bonjours” with abandon along the route. Photo courtesy of Susan.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Ox-eye daisy with a thick-legged flower beetle
Heart 3 Comment 0
Trailside poppies. The first of many we will see. Many many many. So many. So lovely.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Dog rose
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
I just love Janos’ cockpit. He’s got so much cool gear for his videos and drone shots.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Gal pals
Heart 3 Comment 0
Returning to my apartment. Good thing there’s a quick release for the handlebars so they can be turned sideways to get inside.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today was Mother’s Day in France. That explained the difficulty in finding a reservation for dinner. We eventually found a place called, appropriately enough, Mame ma’dit (Mama told me) that had a table free. There was a little girl across from me that particularly caught my attention. I loved her face and her expressions. She entertained herself very well as her mother, father and grandmother talked among themselves. Apparently it was also the girl’s birthday because she got a special dessert. Her reactions just killed me.

This girl had the best expressions. She entertained herself very happily and quietly during the meal. But when this came out for her - oh my.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 1
Karen PoretLove the patent leather shoes ;)
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Magret de Canard. It was so good. But now I can barely stand to look at it. This rich dish was one of the reasons I didn’t get to sleep until 6 a.m.
Heart 2 Comment 0

I don’t know if it was the heavy meal that we finished late, the espresso that I finished it off with, and/or jet lag’s last gasp, but I could not fall asleep tonight. Since I was wide awake and prone to worrying about anything that could be worried about, I decided to deal with some credit card issues between my bank and Apple Pay around 5 a.m. By the time I finished up near 6, I was finally tuckered out enough to sleep. I texted Susan and Suzanne that I’d see them when I see them.

Tomorrow - er, today - is definitely going to be a zero day for me.

Horses and livestock, 2nd floor
Heart 3 Comment 4
Scott AndersonType your comment here
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Rachael AndersonYou ate very talented!
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Kathleen JonesTo Rachael AndersonThanks, that’s kind of you to say.
Reply to this comment
3 months ago

Today's ride: 36 km (22 miles)
Total: 115 km (71 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 0