Back to Metz - French Pootle - CycleBlaze

May 31, 2024

Back to Metz

 Susan and I had agreed that the first one up went out to get breakfast. I heard her stirring so I got up. She was out the front door before I was out my bedroom door. Ah well. I started organizing myself for moving on today instead of making the coffee, which was a big mistake on my part. Sorry, Susan. And thanks for the breakfast. 

Janos was again driving solo, but this time Susan and I decided to carry our full loads instead of letting him take them. After all, I hadn’t done much riding fully loaded yet, and I was going to be on my own starting tomorrow. And the ride was flat and easy since we were going along the Moselle bike route.

Instead of the usual sharing the GPS route one of us created, we each had our own. Mine included a stop back at that wonderful boulangerie we went to on our way out to the chateau. We agreed to go at our own pace since we all knew where we were going. Of course we ended up riding together a lot.

After drying off our bikes from the overnight rain, we picked up Suzanne along the bike path and off we went, heading back north. 

Heart 0 Comment 0
Drizzly start.
Heart 2 Comment 0
It was a comfortable apartment in a good location.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Turn right.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Rescued from the canal. Fixer-upper, anyone?
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
There were locks here and there.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
View blockers make a nice tunnel.
Heart 2 Comment 0

I was disappointed at the boulangerie. It was a different Madame behind the counter, and I had my heart set on beignets but there were none. But Susan and Suzanne were successful.

While we were stopped to enjoy the treats from the boulangerie, this gentleman started talking to the gals. Earlier, Susan spent a little while riding along with a gent named Lars who was making his way home to Sweden. It pays to get out of the house. You never know who’ll you’ll meet.
Heart 1 Comment 0
All mod cons, I’m sure. But a nice little getaway.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Drizzle, rain gear on, sunshine, rain gear off. Waiting out a little shower to see which wardrobe change is next.
Heart 3 Comment 1
Karen PoretAt least your glasses are dry :)
Reply to this comment
3 months ago

One thing I haven’t mentioned yet is the wonderful birdsong that I heard all along this trip, especially along the river and canals. I stopped several times to record songs in the Merlin app. One bird I really wanted to capture was the common cuckoo, which I heard often but could never get a really good recording. Finally got one just outside Metz. It sounds just like those clocks. Huh.

Just outside Metz.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Crossing over to the city. This gal got indignant that I took a photo. I hadn’t realized she was there. Sorry, Madame.
Heart 1 Comment 0

We three ended up crossing into Metz at the same time after all and headed to the same hotel the other three had stayed at earlier. The cathedral bells were ringing and ringing so much we could hardly hear each other. Janos had been watching out for us. He said the bells were to welcome us back. I’ll take it.

I continued on to where I was staying which was the the Best Western hotel near the train station. I stopped to admire some art, missed some turns, the usual. I was early for check in, so lounged in the lobby until my room was ready. 

The gardens at the Place de la République. A demonstration against the Gaza war was just ending, out of frame to the right.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Horses for courses.
Heart 2 Comment 0
French window! Tall! Mini balcony! The train station clock tower!
Heart 2 Comment 0
Life above Place Saint-Jacques.
Heart 0 Comment 0

It was a pleasant walk back to meet the others for dinner at an Italian restaurant off Place Saint-Jacques called San Lorenzo. Great homemade pasta. We walked around together for a little while afterwards, reluctant to say good-bye. It was a Friday evening, and the streets were jammed with people. I wish we had more pedestrian zones in the US.

But the time came to part. It wasn’t easy. I so enjoyed getting to know these fine people, who were so kind to me, who took care of me on my long-delayed return to Europe. I would miss them.

As I was returning to my hotel, I started hearing the the sounds of a large crowd. It was just another place, Place Saint-Louis. Full of life.
Heart 1 Comment 0
My room is tiny - you can see its entire width, and almost depth. But it had all I needed, plus French windows.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Tunnel of green
Heart 5 Comment 0

Today's ride: 38 km (24 miles)
Total: 256 km (159 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 0