Afterword - French Pootle - CycleBlaze

July 14, 2024

Afterword

Before leaving, my sketching-and-cycling friend Claire reminded me that while traveling, if something can go wrong, it will. And it did. I didn’t chronicle every single one of them, for your sake and mine. But here’s one I really wish did not go wrong:

When I was getting ready to head to the Ottweiler train station on my first day, my brother Brian was rushing around to get out the door for his own bike ride. I of course was half hoping that Brian and Petra would be leading the marching band down to the station, but whatever. When I later returned to Ottweiler, he told me that actually he had made a beeline down to the next train station. He was going to surprise me and get on the same train I was on and ride along for a bit. But I didn’t make that train, so I missed him. Dang it, that would have been a good one. 

I was woefully out of foreign-traveling shape. I got tired of feeling stupid for not knowing the local language. I didn’t like the reminders of how much physically older I was since last visit. There were several times when I said to myself, whose idea was this anyway?

And yet ….

You may have noticed that I had already started thinking about next year’s trip, perhaps visiting some of the places my grandfather had been. Plus, friend Claire will be over there next summer and we just have to do a cycling and sketching tour, right? 

Back home
Heart 8 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 10
marilyn swettKathleen, I enjoyed reading your journal and looking at your nice sketches. Do you remember when we met in Texas when we toured on the Southern Tier years ago?
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Nancy GrahamAt least it seems nothing too terribly awful happened on your trip. And I for one would love to do what you did! All is well and you enjoyed some very great riding and, learning and visiting. Here’s to the next one ;’-).
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Gregory GarceauGreat anecdote about how things can go wrong on a bike tour. As disappointed as you felt about getting dissed by your brother in the morning, missing the train, and missing your brother's surprise as a result, just think how disappointed he must have been.

I really enjoyed connecting with you agian via your journal. Thank you.
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Kathleen JonesTo marilyn swett Sure do! I was so proud of myself for finding you along the route. My wife was at SXSW in Austin, and I was just tagging along. I rented a car to take a look at the surrounding countryside, but when I figured out where you two might be that was my secret reason. I loved following along on your rides so it was special to see you on the road.
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Kathleen JonesTo Nancy GrahamYes, nothing terrible happened. Just normal annoyances and headaches. The trip was a great experience as far as I’m concerned.
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Kathleen JonesTo Gregory GarceauThanks, Greg.

Yes, that was a little gut punch when I found out that we missed having that moment.
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Rachael AndersonWhat a great tour to had and your drawings were wonderful! As for your comment about feeling stupid about not knowing the local language, you are way ahead of us! The only place we’ve known the language is here in Great Britain!
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Kathleen JonesTo Rachael AndersonThanks for following along, Rachael, and glad you liked the drawings.

I missed my buddies who know a lot more French than me. It’s easier with friends around to share the joys and “joys.”
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Susan CarpenterLoved it all - words, photos and drawings. So glad to have shared part of your adventure. Thanks!
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Kathleen JonesThanks, Susan. It was special to meet you IRL and to spend the time on the road with you. Thanks for your routing, translating and cat herding!
Reply to this comment
2 months ago