Thank You - "Vibes" - CycleBlaze

From "Vibes"

By Jeff Lee

Thank You

I'd like to thank the following people:

1. Dr. Joy Santee: Meeting my wife is certainly the best thing that ever happened to me. She helped me countless times during the months I was recovering from my various maladies in 2023, put up with my whining during phone calls on a handful of difficult days during this tour, and took care of everything back at home while I was out goofing around for six weeks. She is the best person I've ever known. 

2. John Egan: John created much of the route for this tour, and provided additional suggestions and moral support on some of the difficult days. He is the foremost expert on creating bicycle touring routes in North America, in my opinion, and is also a great guy. I did not encounter much bad traffic on this trip, but the few times I did, it was basically always on a section that I'd worked out myself, and not one of John's routes.

3. Morri Nash: Morri picked me up at the San Luis Obispo airport, retrieved my bike from the local bike shop, let me stay at her home in Morro Bay for two nights, cooked great meals for me, took me on a fun ride with her friends on super-scenic Highway 1, and rode with me part of the morning of the first day of the tour. All of her help made starting this tour on the west coast much, much easier and more fun than it would have been otherwise.

4. Christa Albrecht-Crane: Christa and her husband Bob hosted me at their home in Orem, Utah on the sixteenth day of the tour, and their familiar faces, comfortable place, enjoyable conversation, and the great meals prepared by Christa really lifted my spirits after what had been a lonely stretch of the tour.

Also, thanks to the many kind strangers I met on the tour: The people who gave me water and Gatorade on the hot, dry, scarily remote section of US-6, and the many friendly people, across nine states, in gas stations, grocery stores, cafes, small towns, and motels that I enjoyed talking to.

Finally, thanks to everyone who followed along on my trip by reading this journal. Sometimes, updating a journal during a tour feels like doing homework, and knowing that some people were waiting for me to update it every day helped motivate me to keep going.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 17
Comment on this entry Comment 12
Kathleen JonesYou get 💯 on your homework. Thanks, Jeff.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Lucy MartinThanks for posting. I really enjoyed your photos and your writing.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Mark BinghamIt was a great tour, with superb pictures, as usual. Thanks for sharing it with us.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Kelly IniguezI enjoyed following along with you. Your updates were a highlight of my day.

Enjoy being at home and sleeping in your own bed!
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Bill ShaneyfeltGreat job Jeff! Thanks for all the nature photos! Not many cycle tourists seem to notice nature, let alone take photos and then make the effort to post them with limited time, limited energy and limited internet. You are outstanding.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
George HallIt was fun following along - thanks for writing the journal! You certainly had some tough days, but they balanced out with the good days. Rest up, then start thinking about your next tour - there's always another tour ahead! Best of luck,
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Morri NashIt was a pleasure getting to host you for the beginning of this tour especially since you and Joy hosted Peter and me when we toured in Kentucky several years ago. I will miss reading about your daily adventures but it was fun while it lasted…thanks for sharing your journey.

I hope to see you in October when I come back to KY to visit Peter.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Jon AylingThanks Jeff, really enjoyed reading along and fantastic photography. Cheers!
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Rich FrasierJeff, I really enjoyed this journal. A different approach to cross-country rides and it was very engaging. Thanks for doing the homework!
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Mark M.Some impressive mileage, and a great journal. Thanks gor letting us come along for the ride, virtually speaking!
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
John EganYou are way way, way too kind.
I love getting to take bike tours with you.
I love your eye for detail and whimsy.
And I love your diet on the road.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Mike AylingThank you for a great journal.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago