Seventh 100-Mile Ride of 2024 - "Vibes" - CycleBlaze

From "Vibes"

By Jeff Lee

Seventh 100-Mile Ride of 2024

May 19th. Another Sunday century. I got out before 7:00 and took my usual flat route to Owensboro, where I got on the Greenbelt Trail. I decided to ride the entire thing this time.

Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 1
John PickettThis is pretty surprising. I live not far from Gunston Hall which is located about five miles from the Atlantic Coast Route on Mason Neck in Virginia.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago

The eastern portion of the trail is nicer then the western end - lots more shade.

Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0

There was a conveniently located Dairy Queen immediately adjacent to the trail, so I stopped there for a hot fudge sundae and French fries.

After that I followed the trail to its eastern terminus, then a short distance on a busy road escaping the suburban sprawl, then mostly-empty country roads.

Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0

It got hotter in the afternoon, and I was on farm roads with little shade. I stopped at a little restaurant/bakery/coffee shop in the countryside for a bowl of ice cream - The second ice cream stop of the ride.

Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0

It was a bit of a hot slog the rest of the way home. I stopped and briefly talked to an Owensboro cyclist. I never see riders from Owensboro on my side of the Green River for some reason.

Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0

I was hot and tired when I got home, although I felt pretty good about the fact that I'd neither bonked, nor experienced cramps on this long, hot ride.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 0