Manitowoc, Then to Ludington, Michigan on the S.S. Badger - "Vibes" - CycleBlaze

From "Vibes"

By Jeff Lee

Manitowoc, Then to Ludington, Michigan on the S.S. Badger

The B&B I'd selected was alright, but it was kind of ridiculously fussy for our taste. 

Heart 2 Comment 0

Among other odd touches, there were many, many creepy decorations featuring children's faces. Here's one that was above the bed:

Heart 2 Comment 0

The breakfast at the B&B was good. The woman had already mentioned more than once that her husband was responsible for the fruit course. I detected some marital conflict regarding this; it was clear she thought that he paid an excessive amount of attention to his fruit ("Oh, Kevin and his fruit!"). It seemed she didn't want his fruit to detract from the "signature dish" that she prepared, some sort of fancy Eggs Florentine thing.

Because I found the woman a little annoying, I made sure to praise Kevin's fruit in her presence. To be fair, her fancy egg thing was good also.

After checking out of the B&B, we looked around Manitowoc for a few hours before boarding the S.S. Badger ferry that would take us across Lake Michigan. 

We spent a while at the West of the Lake Gardens, which was a very nice place.

These were very well tended gardens. I was hoping to get some inside information on weed control, something that I have a lot of trouble with at home, but I was disappointed when the employees there told me that there was no magic bullet: "We just pull the weeds." Oh well!

Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0

Joy had taken the four hour ride on the historic S.S. Badger, the last of the coal powered ships across Lake Michigan, years ago, and knew the process, but I was slightly apprehensive. Once on the boat, though, I was alright. 

Passengers playing bingo.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Apparently this man also felt a twinge of seasickness, like I did at first.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
These people didn't seem too excited about the trip.
Heart 3 Comment 0
We had a tiny room on the boat. I spent some time there, away from the crowds, while Joy was more interested in looking at the lake and exploring the boat.
Heart 2 Comment 0
It was cold outside on the boat!
Heart 1 Comment 0
Waiting for our minivan to emerge from the bowels of the boat in Ludington.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0

We drove a mile or two to a very nice, renovated old-style motel in Ludington that Joy had found, then walked down to the lake to watch the sunset. The temperatures were so nice and cool here, as they had been on my bike trip the last several days, that it was going to be difficult to get adjusted to the hot, humid Kentucky weather again.

Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 8 Comment 0
Heart 13 Comment 2
Mark BinghamThis is a great picture. :-)
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Jeff LeeTo Mark BinghamThanks, although this is probably the oldest I've ever looked in a photo :|
Reply to this comment
2 months ago

We watched the Badger turn around and ahead back to Manitowoc. It's impressively big.

Heart 4 Comment 0

We went to bed fairly early, after walking around Ludington. Tomorrow was the eight hour drive back to Kentucky. 

This is probably my last big bike tour. I've said this before, of course; at this point, my wife just rolls her eyes when she hears it.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 11
Comment on this entry Comment 1
John EganWhat a great way to end your trip.
And I absolutely love the sunset photo of you and Joy!
Xoxoxo
Reply to this comment
2 months ago