First Time on the Singlespeed in Several Months - "Vibes" - CycleBlaze

From "Vibes"

By Jeff Lee

First Time on the Singlespeed in Several Months

My touring bike, the bike I've mostly been riding since I was cleared to ride after my back surgery, is on its way to California as I write this.

This morning, Sunday, June 2, I decided I might be in good enough shape to finally take my most beloved possession, my Wabi Lightning SE, off its stand in the basement and take it out for a ride. I haven't ridden it since last summer, at the onset of my various maladies. 

The bike is a light (16.5 lbs.) steel single speed with a 48x16 gear. The wheels are very light, and are only rated to 185 lbs. I've weighed more than that for several months, but this morning I decided to risk breaking spokes and take it out for a ride.

Another reason I haven't ridden it for months is I was concerned that its aggressive geometry, along with the need to stand up and exert a lot of force while climbing, might hurt my back. I've been feeling good, though, so I thought it was worth the risk.

It was cool and partly cloudy when I got out this morning. I told Joy I'd probably do a very short ride, but I felt so good that I rode all the way to Sebree, and then took a longer way back.

It was a great ride, and no spokes were broken ;

Heart 6 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 0