Day Twenty-nine: Springview, Nebraska to Spencer, Nebraska - "Vibes" - CycleBlaze

From "Vibes"

By Jeff Lee

July 13, 2024

Day Twenty-nine: Springview, Nebraska to Spencer, Nebraska

I hadn't liked riding out when the sun was already high up in the sky yesterday, so I went to bed around 8:15 last night, and set the alarm for 4:30, with the plan that I'd ride out at first light, even though my destination was only about 64 miles away. I'd already contacted a motel in Spencer and arranged for a room, which, at $66.31 including tax, was the second-cheapest lodging of the trip. There was a heat advisory for the next few days, and even though I dislike reserving rooms in cheap  motels sight unseen, I wanted to make sure I had an air conditioned space when it got hot in the afternoon.

I did the usual morning chores, including responding to a customer's emailed question, ate yesterday's leftover pizza, drank my morning Diet Pepsi, and finished the half gallon of chocolate milk.

I walked outside to find that finally, after almost 2,000  miles on this tour, it was humid. I remembered just in time to lube my annoyingly raspy chain. I'd  been forgetting to do this for the last several days. It was still dark, and I probably sprayed as much lube on the sidewalk as I did the chain.

The convenience store wasn't open yet, so I rode away without making a stop in town. It was a relief to ride with a quiet chain.

I was on NE-12 again, and today, unlike yesterday, there was very, very little traffic.

Heart 9 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 10 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0

There were more trees and green fields than ever before on the trip.

It was interesting how the humidity had returned so suddenly. I was unused to how everything, especially my camera, was slippery with moisture.

Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0

This was a pleasant, if uneventful day. Early on there was a tiny bit of cloud cover that blocked the sun from beating directly down on me. It became more overcast later on, which I was very happy about. It was hot and humid, but without the bright sun roasting me, it was tolerable.

There were a few climbs, but nothing notable. The wind was either neutral, or was helping me. All of this, combined with an almost complete lack of traffic, made it a very nice ride.

Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 8 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0

After about 40 miles, I pulled into Naper, population 89. I'd seen on the map that there was a café in town.

I walked into the café and was greeted by a friendly table of senior citizens, but things went downhill quickly as I observed the *very* slow moving waitress take ten minutes to ring up a customer. She eventually got around to me, and gave me the disappointing news that it was too early for lunch, and there was nothing on the breakfast menu without meat. I asked about getting an egg-cheese-biscuit, but after learning it would  cost the same as the sandwich with sausage (8$!!), I told her never mind. I bought a couple of bottles of Gatorade and left. I didn't want to spend a lot of time waiting to get an overpriced sandwich as the temperature rose.

I took a few photos of Naper, and then as I was riding away an old man rode up to me on an ATV. He was friendly and asked The Usual Questions. I felt better about Naper after that. I'd felt pretty sour about the inflexibility of the woman at the café.

Heart 6 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0

I realized I was making much better time than I'd anticipated. It was only 24 miles to my destination for the day. I pulled off into a cemetery and called the motel, and told the lady that I'd be arriving sooner than expected.

It was getting cloudier. Still hot and humid, but the lack of of sun, a tailwind, and much flatter terrain allowed me to fly.

Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0

I stopped in Butte, population 286, and the county seat of Boyd County. I didn't see a single person Butte as I walked around and looked things over.

Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0

I flew along to Spencer. I heard a few thunderclaps, but it only sprinkled. I passed a crumbling farmhouse, from which a man emerged just as I rode by. I waved and said hello, and then noticed that he was wearing a sleeveless t-shirt with the words "CALIFORNIA SUCKS". Haha - has this shitkicker even been outside Nebraska, much less to California? I have many faults, but at least I mostly form my opinions about other places based on actually visiting them, and not from consuming the dumbest sort of propaganda.

Heart 3 Comment 1
John EganI'll bet that shitkicker has been to South Dakota ...
Reply to this comment
1 month ago

I arrived in Spencer, population 389, and rode through town. 

Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 1
Kelly Iniguezhttps://huffyswindsocks.com

That is a specialized business. How many airport windsock manufacturers could there be?
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Spencer.
Heart 6 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 2
Jon AylingLocal adverts not enough to save the windsock company!
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Jeff LeeTo Jon AylingHa. I thought the same thing. But maybe they are just moving to a different location, not going out of business.

Article about them: https://huffyswindsocks.com/about-us/
Reply to this comment
1 month ago

My motel was located a little bit outside of town. I checked into the small but clean room, after waiting a few minutes for the 13-year-old son of the owners to finish vacuuming. I'd arrived at least 40 minutes earlier than I'd told them when I called earlier, so I had no reason to complain about this, of course. It wasn't even Noon.

I walked back to town in my bike clothes and bought chocolate milk and a liter of Diet Coke and a frozen macaroni and cheese dinner. The sun was out now, and it was hot. I felt vaguely dissatisfied by how easy the day had been; I could easily have done twenty more miles. But then I realized that was stupid, and lay down on the bed in my cool room.

Heart 4 Comment 0

Today's ride: 66 miles (106 km)
Total: 1,925 miles (3,098 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 13
Comment on this entry Comment 7
John EganPS - Glad the traffic was light and sorry you had US 20 detour traffic yesterday.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Jeff LeeTo John EganNo need to apologize! I appreciate all your help with routing.

By most cyclists' standards, yesterday was fine. I'm just spoiled by riding on so many empty roads.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Bill ShaneyfeltCalifornia: That guy in the sleeveless shirt might possibly be from CA

I grew up in Mojave, CA with 8 siblings. One is deceased and in the cemetery there. The rest are scattered to Hawaii, Tennessee, Mississippi, North Carolina and Ohio. I know of 6 teachers and schoolmates who live in ID & MT. I know of others who left because of the vandalism by homeless and increasing taxes.

The climate is great, but seems the vibe is slowly deteriorating.

Oh yeah, and my daughter just got her PHD and took a job in UT after living 7+ years in the Santa Cruz area while she worked on it. Sad commentary, but water over-consumption, over-population and other things are slowly getting worse.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Jeff LeeTo Bill ShaneyfeltI just thought it was funny that guy living in a Nebraska county with a population of less than 2,000 thought it was important to make a political statement about a state that is the world's fifth largest economy.

In general, I feel disdain for anyone (on any part of the political spectrum) who wears clothing with political slogans on them. I believe it's rude and pointlessly provocative. And frankly, low class.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Bill ShaneyfeltTo Jeff LeeAgreed. I see lots of it from both ends of the political spectrum.

I have no bumper stickers, never have, no advertising t-shirts or hats, never have, no yard signs, never have. I do occasionally express my opinion based on observations, but rarely. In my opinion, such should be reserved for personal conversations, and kept to observations, not arguments.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Mike AylingTo Bill ShaneyfeltAgree
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Rich FrasierCold pizza - breakfast of champions!!
Reply to this comment
1 month ago