Day Seven: Lone Pine, California to Big Pine, California - "Vibes" - CycleBlaze

From "Vibes"

By Jeff Lee

June 21, 2024

Day Seven: Lone Pine, California to Big Pine, California

One of the most boring days I've ever had on a bike tour.

I was hoping my cold was getting better, but last night was terrible. For some reason I was keyed up, and couldn't even approach sleepiness until after 10:00. Then, multiple coughing fits kept me mostly awake for the next several hours. I finally just gave up and got out of bed. I've never had a cold with coughing this bad before. If I was at home I'm sure I'd be complaining incessantly about it. The coughing has not been bad in the daytime so far; if it gets to that point, then I'll  have to quit this trip.

I briefly considered extending my stay at the hotel for another day to rest, but ultimately decided to move up US-395 about forty miles to the next touristy town, Big Pine.

I returned a few calls from customers from yesterday, slowly got everything back on the bike, and then spent several minutes trying to attach my new helmet mirror. I ultimately had to call Joy for help in figuring out how to do it.

I didn't get out of town until after 9:00. The sun was already up and hot. There was slight headwind. I was sick  of US-395 now.

Heart 5 Comment 0

I stopped in Independence, population 669. I took a few photos, bought a few snacks and a Gatorade, and then, thinking that I should  eat something more substantial given my weakened condition,  got a bean and cheese burrito from a food truck next to the convenience store.

Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 7 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0

I rode through what I believe was a small area controlled by an Indian tribe ("Tax-Free Weed"!), and stopped at a rest area where a guy asked me the Usual Questions. I mumbled some perfunctory answers, then told the guy I had a bad cold ,and blew my nose violently. He quickly left me alone after that.

Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0

I passed a pair of sunglasses on the shoulder, and for some reason went back and picked them up. Maybe they will be useful as a backup pair.

Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0

I arrived in Big Pine and checked into the nice enough old motor lodge where I'd reserved a room earlier in the day. I walked to a market where I bought a 2-liter of 7-UP, some snacks, and, most important, a very very expensive bottle of NyQuil.

Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0

I decided that despite my weakened condition, I would exit US-395 tomorrow and take a long, hilly highway all the way into Nevada.

Heart 2 Comment 0

Today's ride: 43 miles (69 km)
Total: 418 miles (673 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 16
Comment on this entry Comment 11
John EganYou gonna be O.K.?
You have a lot of nothing between Lone Pine and Goldfield.
Just the college a mile off Hwy 168.
And Goldfield is pretty abandoned, but has the bare minimum.
You will have plenty of empty, however.
And I know you like that.

I will talk to the management about your cold symptoms.
Hope you are better tomorrow.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Jeff LeeTo John EganThanks, John. The NyQuil worked, and I slept through the night. Finally.

I have an AirBnB reserved in Goldfield, and extra water on the bike.

Now I just need my climbing legs ;)
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Morri NashNyQuil usually works for meā€¦glad to hear you finally got some sleep. Your tenacity amazes me.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Jeff LeeTo John EganJohn , I just arrived in Goldfield, at 8:10.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
John EganTo Jeff LeeYou have to be the most extreme cyclist I have ever known.
How many miles? How much elevation? How empty?
A million congrats.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
John EganAre you going to do a short day tomorrow?
Just to Tonopah?

You don't have to stay at the Clown Motel - -
although I did once and it turned out okay.
No ghosts or chainsaw murderers.

However, the Mizpah Hotel is truly elegant.
And they have a hostel-like annex behind it.
I love Tonopah. Worth a look.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Mark BinghamTo John EganThe CLOWN Motel?? How can anyone NOT stay at a place named the Clown Motel? I think it might beat elegant, at least for one night. :-)
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Jeff LeeTo John EganHey John,

Yes, I took a short day to Tonopah today to rest after yesterday and plan the next few days. What I'm thinking is to get on US 6 and ride tomorrow to Warm Springs and camp there, near that closed springs place.

Question: Is there water I can filter there to drink?

Next day, ride 102 miles to a truck stop/motel in Preston. Ely is too far for me to do from Warm Springs.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Jeff LeeTo Mark BinghamI stayed at a boring traditional cheap motel instead, although the Clown Motel, despite problem being a tourist trap, was better located.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Jeff LeeTo John EganThanks, John. Do you remember Rich Haubert? He would leave me in the dust. Crazy long days, and usually stealth camped. I don't think he's toured in a while, though.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
John EganTo Jeff LeeYeah, I remember Rich.
He was crazier even than you.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago