Training - Bicycle Tour in 1981 - CycleBlaze

May 24, 2024

Training

Who Needs Training?

Paul was managing a store in Tarzana (LA) California, so he had quite a few more responsibilities than did I. As such, his time on the bike was more limited than was mine. But we did get out for a few rides in the mountains to the North and East of the San Fernando Valley. We also drove up to a trailer that he and Billy-S owned in Carpinteria. There we rode over to Santa Barbara and its surroundings.  A few photos are posted below. 

Photos from a training ride, May 1 and 2, 1981, in the mountains and Big Tijunga Canyon, to the North and East of the San Fernando Valley. I carried that hatchet all the way up the West Coast and then across the country. I'd likely be arrested today after walking into a convenience store with that thing strapped to my waist.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The trailer park, in Carpinteria, where Paul and Billy owned a trailer. It was close to the beach, which was nice after a long training ride in the area.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I happened to be riding solo, in the Antelope Valley, on April 14, 1981, when the Space Shuttle Columbia landed at Edwards Air Force Base. I didn't see it but did note the increased traffic in what was normally a quiet area. I stopped to ask what was going on, of a few people in RVs who had pulled over. They were using high powered binoculars and cameras to try and get views of the shuttle. Since I couldn't see anything when I looked up, the only thing left to do was to keep on riding.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0