Advice on eAssist touring bike? - CycleBlaze

Bicycle Travel Forum

Advice on eAssist touring bike?

Keith Adams

I have a frien in her early 70s who is considering getting a new touring bike.  She's interested in the possibility of an e-assisted setup, but not a full-on bike.  

I'm aware of some here who have similar setups, where the assist comes in the form of a gizmo that monitors the torque being applied to the crank and gently applies additional force as needed.

Can you advise me on your experiences if you have such a thing?  Pros and cons, complexity, reliability, etc. are what I'm after, as well as info on OEM vs. a retrofit.

She's also wanting something with electronic shifting.  Although I don't know of any reason they would be incompatible with an e-assist unit I have no experience with either technology so if you do I'm eager to learn from you.

Reply    Link    Flag
1 week ago
Steve Miller/GrampiesTo Keith Adams

Dodie here. I just saw this post and will show it to Steve when he returns from some outside chores.  To further answer better what country is your friend in and where would she plan on touring?

Reply    Link    Flag
1 week ago

Steve here now, in from cutting some moderate logs with my electric chain saw.  Your question evokes some of the standard choices in the e-bike world: mid drive vs hub drive, cadence sensor vs torque sensor, derailleur vs internal hub, throttle vs no throttle, battery size 300/400/500/ 600 wH, low step frame design vs slanted cross bar, battery on a rear rack vs on the seat tube vs built in to the down tube, and finally motor power - from weak city bike, to touring, to mountain bike torque. I feel I could go through the details on each of these topics, but another way would be to identify what we would take to be a "good" bike and also to spec out a not good  one.