Nam Dinh to Nho Quan - Indochina Pursuit - CycleBlaze

January 24, 2018

Nam Dinh to Nho Quan

The beauty of Tam Coc

My first destination was the Tam Coc boat ride. The official price is approximately 16 dollar, making it the most expensive attraction that I visited so far. But the locals invented a few more ways to extract money from tourists. Like 40 cent to park your (motor) cycle. By comparison, the most I paid before today was 8 cent at a busy a shopping center in Hanoi.

But the ultimate was a hawker who approached my boat at the turn around ( half way ) point. She said my rower needed a snack pointing to her overpriced prepackaged food. I told her, he will be much happier with a cash tip at the end.

But I really enjoyed the trip. I went out before the crowds. Serenity in a place world renowned for it's natural beauty.

Then I went to Bai Dinh temple complex. You can't enter through the main gate. Instead you must ride several km to the far corner of the property. The you first pay 16 cent for parking. Then 2 dollar for a ride on an electric car that drops you off inside the complex, (you guessed it) at the main gate. Why not just ask an entrance fee ??

Then I headed west. In Nho Quan, I was relieved to spot a bicycle shop because I broke two more spokes since Hai Phong. Despite not sharing a common language, me and this guy worked like a team. The whole job took only 10 or 15 minutes.

Traffic piled up at a level crossing while waiting for this train to pass.
Heart 0 Comment 0
This rower was not happy that I photographed her. Illegal fishing ??
Heart 3 Comment 0
On the way back, the river got crowded
Heart 1 Comment 0
Many tourists taking the Tam Coc boat ride.
Heart 1 Comment 0
There were many westerners on bicycles in the area.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The flags at Trang An
Heart 0 Comment 0
Goat herd almost blocking the road
Heart 1 Comment 0
Hundreds of these Buddha statues are lined up at Bai Dinh, each one slightly different. This one has two heads.
Heart 1 Comment 0
View from the top of the 12 storey pagoda. Ninh Binh is in the top right hand corner.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Dharma
Heart 1 Comment 0
The intensely bright green reed fields that I associate with Tam Coc
Heart 1 Comment 0
A river boat
Heart 0 Comment 0
Some restaurants need extra space. Then they put up a tent on the shoulder of the (very busy) road.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 94 km (58 miles)
Total: 563 km (350 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0