Harihareshwar to Ladghar - Mumbai to Goa - CycleBlaze

January 8, 2024

Harihareshwar to Ladghar

Fifty two miles ridden but some in the wrong direction, uphill, so Strava showed a height gain about 3900ft..

i left at 7am and rode straight past the ferry…..up a hill which seemed an unlikely place for it…so a back track.  There is no bridge built to Bankot so the ferry to Vesav is the only route.   Which is one reason why NH4 is so quiet.  Saying that, there was a traffic jam on NH4 outside my hotel last night caused by a group of Oxen.

Slow traffic on NH4
Heart 3 Comment 0

I am now far enough South of Mumbai to have lost the Mumbai beach holiday set.

I had wanted to ride around the coast via Velas but I had been told there was no road to Mandival where the bridge is to cross the next river.  Even today when I asked on the ferry I was told no road, but in fact it was there.  Looks like it was only built a couple of years ago and no one knows about it as great surface and no traffic.   Around Velas it followed a beautiful empty coastline.

South of Velas
Heart 3 Comment 0

After crosding at Mandival I headed downstream back to the coast.   Then South to Harnai but missed the road to the bridge crossing the next river and ended up with a long slow climb.   Realising I was wrong Google maps showed where I was so a fast run back to the bridge for Harnai, on NH4 again.   NH4 then climbed onto a ridge above Harnai before descending back to the coast.  I might have been better trying to find a coast route but a lot of small roads are not visible on google earth as the resolution I can get in India is much worse than what I could see when I was logged on in UK.

I followed the coast and stopped at 4pm, pretty exhausted.  Nice hotel, RS1000 (£10).

 

Looking down over Harnai
Heart 2 Comment 0

Today's ride: 52 miles (84 km)
Total: 142 miles (229 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 0