Moab training opportunity. - We'll see you when the snow melts. - CycleBlaze

May 10, 2024

Moab training opportunity.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Jacinto had a three day school bus trip this week to Moab. He took the adventure club. They went hiking, biking, and rock climbing. Isn't that too fun?

He invited me to follow along and share his motel room. I brought both bikes. Jacinto hoped to have time for a ride also. In the end, he rode only the last day, as the kids were too busy moving from place to place. Of course Jacinto chose the ride with the most climbing - up to Canyonlands! 

I stopped before arriving in town, at the intersection of Highway 313. This is the road to Canyonlands and Dead Horse Point. It is a good condition road with a wide shoulder the entire 20 mile distance. I pulled off at the first opportunity, and unloaded the bike. I had a three mile warm up before dropping into the granny gear. I hope Going to the Sun Road is as kind next month! It was a gradual uphill the entire distance. The downhill was great fun, with the good shoulder. Traffic was light, and polite. 

Day two - I did a 45 mile ride along Potash Road that I've done before. I spent quite a bit of time on RWGPS, trying to figure out a good way to exit town with minimal traffic. I was quite proud of myself for finding a short bike path that ends right at the La Quinta Motel! I had a good ride, and felt strong. 

Day three - The kids were going mountain biking all morning. Jacinto had a chance for a ride. I had mentally been planning on a quick 20 miles before driving home. I hated to deny Jacinto his chance to ride. I met him at the Bar M Trailhead. The kids were getting last minute instructions, and encouragement to choose the correct group to ride in. It was suggested that they evaluate how sore their rear ends were, and to pick a ride that was the level of difficulty that would be fun. It was emphasized that they should pick a ride that they could ride the entire thing, not walk. I thought the teacher did an excellent job of instructing, yet encouraging the students.

We were only two miles from the turn to 313 - Jacinto wanted to ride that climb up to Canyonlands. He took off with purpose. I followed, planning to ride the bike path to the end in both directions. This is what I did. I even rode the two mile spur to Castle Valley. When I got back to the van, Jacinto wasn't back yet, so I went up 313 to the base of the climb. I ended up with 33 miles for the day. 

Overall, we had some wind, but the temperatures were warmer than home. I got caught in a fierce rainstorm in Debeque Canyon. I had my wipers on high, and had to reduce driving speed. The odd thing was, I entered a short tunnel while it was raining. When I came out the other side, the ground was dry and there wasn't any rain! Weather patterns are odd. It was chilly and windy at home. I probably wouldn't have gotten in that many miles at home. I definitely enjoyed the change of scenery while riding. I'm mentally ready for touring!

My RANS Stratus K frame XP. Ready to ride after a 2.5 hour drive. I had a three mile warm up and then an extended granny gear climb. That’s how you shake out the legs after driving!
Heart 2 Comment 0
I don’t know why this looks downhill. It was the start of the big climb.
Heart 4 Comment 2
Bill ShaneyfeltToo much sky makes it appear downhill.
Reply to this comment
4 weeks ago
Scott AndersonAnd it is a pretty big climb. If you were fine on this you should be feeling good about your conditioning for the tour.
Reply to this comment
4 weeks ago
Indeed, there were cows on the road. Cow pies also!
Heart 1 Comment 0
Ready or not!
Heart 1 Comment 0
The La Sal Mountains as seen from Highway 313.
Heart 8 Comment 2
Scott AndersonI really love this road. Almost every mile along it is amazing.
Reply to this comment
4 weeks ago
She might not be sexy, but she’s a practical ride. My eight foot long recumbent fits right in with both wheels on!
Heart 3 Comment 0
Day two - a flat 45mile ride on Potash Road.
Heart 4 Comment 0
It's like seeing castle in Spain - I looked up, totally without anticipation - and there was an arch!
Heart 5 Comment 0
The pedestrian bridge at Castle Valley.
Heart 4 Comment 0
A close up of the stone and metal artwork on the bridge.
Heart 4 Comment 0
I was proud of myself for discovering this short bike path that took me right to the motel.
Heart 2 Comment 0
I escaped the busy main road, taking Fourth Street to the motel. A find along the way was this old fashioned burger joint. Notice the background mural.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Just the kind of food you would expect - the chocolate shake was spot on.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Here’s the inside of their bathroom door.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Rock climbing on Potash Road.
Heart 3 Comment 1
Rachael AndersonI love bicycling this road:
Reply to this comment
4 weeks ago
This is the same area, but looks completely different in the shade.
Heart 5 Comment 0
A dollar store purchase. It’s half the price of Neutrogena. Let’s see how it feels after applying. It was in the skin care section, not the sunscreen area.
Heart 0 Comment 2
marilyn swettGood find! Which dollar store? Dollar Tree, Family Dollar or Dollar General?
Reply to this comment
4 weeks ago
Kelly IniguezTo marilyn swettDollar General. Side note they they have built a second dollar store in tiny Silt. It was built on top of a marsh, and already they are having structural issues. The store hasn’t even opened!
Reply to this comment
4 weeks ago
This sign is a first.
Heart 1 Comment 1
Karen PoretAs if! Let’s hope this does make them at least think about doing the right “deed”…
Reply to this comment
4 weeks ago
I did a double take!
Heart 2 Comment 0
I rode a two mile path spur towards Castle Valley.
Heart 5 Comment 0
On the main path that ends at Highway 313, the turn for Canyonlands.
Heart 5 Comment 3
Scott AndersonI’d love to see this spot again, but we’re usually gone for the year by the time it’s warm enough here.
Reply to this comment
4 weeks ago
Wayne EstesThat segment wasn't built yet when I toured there in 2010. At that time the path ended at the Arches entrance.
Reply to this comment
1 week ago
Rate this entry's writing Heart 10
Comment on this entry Comment 4
Karen PoretI would just sit and stare at the beauty! Thank you for taking all of those gorgeous photos!
Reply to this comment
4 weeks ago
Rachael AndersonHow great you had such a great getaway!
Reply to this comment
4 weeks ago
Jeanna & Kerry SmithGorgeous pictures, Kelly. I'm impressed with your climbing abilities!
Jeanna
Reply to this comment
3 weeks ago
Larry MitchellAnother spot to add to our list … been to Moab quite a few times, just not with our trikes.
Reply to this comment
3 weeks ago