Day 31: Eagle Plains to Rock River Campground: Mosquito Campground - Four Corners of Canada - CycleBlaze

July 5, 2010

Day 31: Eagle Plains to Rock River Campground: Mosquito Campground

I stopped in at the restaurant for a pancake breakfast before heading out. It was a nice break from the usual oatmeal.

The big milestone today was crossing the Arctic Circle.

I was fortunate with the weather today. It was clear where I was, but there were rain clouds that seemed to chase me in the afternoon and it rained in the evening. There were even rumbles of thunder.

About 20 km before the campground there was a vehicle stopped ahead. I thought that they might need help, but as I got closer I realized that they were filming me. They thanked me as I passed by.

I stayed at the Rock River Campground. The mosquitoes here are the worst that I have ever seen. I even had to put my bug jacket on in the cooking shelter and put DEET on my hands.

End point:

http://maps.google.com/maps?f=q&hl=en&geocode=&q=66.91433,-136.35683&ll=66.91433,-136.35683&ie=UTF8&z=12&om=1

This lake got in the way when I was trying to take a picture of my thumb.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
The Arctic Circle is just around the bend.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Notice how my jersey matches the sign. This took a lot of planning.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The Richardson Mountains. The towering clouds in the sky look a bit worrisome.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 78 km (48 miles)
Total: 3,236 km (2,010 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0